Headlong Solfiggietto

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

After the tragety of the 9-11 atatcks in New York, the world was shocked at the atrocity of this wicked deed. This piece, however, is not a response to this attack, but rather a reponse to the USA administation's response to this attack. Outrage, accusations, promises of revenge, demand for justice, hate… Where does this ever get you, who can ever win, where does it all lead?

It was posted on Sib in Jan 2005. Why the delay? Well the Tsunami tragety spawned some music. However, this is not a Tsunami Piece. This demonstration of nature's ultimate power reminded me of this previous tragety, So I tided up the orchestration and posted it

Not often I get pretencious, but this time… well there we go.

CPE BACH's innocent Solfigietto seemed to fit the bill.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Tony Matthews. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Tony Matthews has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.