Home > Solo instrument > RENAISSANCE DANCE RONDEAU for Organ


Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals])
Instrumental parts
Not available

G'Day All, I first heard these pieces last year at an inaugural organ recital in Penna. They were played marvelously by a recitalist from the U.K. I later learned that he was actually playing his own realization from both, an "open score" and excerpts from the "Mulliner Book". Once I obtained all of these sources, I chose to do an actual organ setting. Although the pieces were not composed as a single work, they truly, work wonderfully as one. I believe that these same three pieces were played as a whole for the dedication of an organ at Birmingham Cathedral in the U.K. This was probaby the first time that the "three" became "one". Registration, dynamics, etc., would be entirely the performer's choice. However, one might experiment with an 8' pedal, or manual coupling only to pedal for the "B" & "C" sections of the rondeau. Do En-Joy!!!


H. L.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by H. L. Smith, II ASCAP. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com H. L. Smith, II ASCAP has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.