"Viy" Overture

Full details...
page one of "Viy" Overture

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The idea for nthis overture came from a short story by V. Gogol called "Vij" or "Viy". Basically what happens in the story is this guy named Homa kills a witch. The witch he kills is a girl, but she doesn't die right away. Before she dies she tells her father that when she is dead she wants Homa to read her prayers when shes in a tomb inside the church. When Homa was called by the dead girl's father, Homa dind't know why he was called upon, arriving to the church he was suprised to see the girl he had killed. He read her prayers for 3 nights. He noticed her getting up and trying to look for him. On the 3d night, the most horrible one of all the demons, the dead and ghosts appeared and they brough their Lord, Vij, who then saw Homa who was reading prayers, and all of them jumped on him and tore him to pieces. This overture is about the 3d night.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of "Viy" Overture

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...