Five Pieces for String Quartet (complete)

The five pieces are intended to be played continuously as a set lasting approximately 8? minutes. They are designed to form an arch-shaped structure, built around a central movement, an expressive Aria, combining lyrical cantabile lines for the ?cello and viola with dissonant thematic material. On either side of this piece are faster pieces, Canon and Bagatelle, their lighter mood offering some contrast to the intensity of the outer movements. Preludio and Epilogo complete the mirror symmetry of the structure, with both movements exploring the same thematic material (based on intervals of semitones, sevenths and augmented fourths) that was used in Aria.

The set of pieces is based on earlier material, which has been extensively revised for submission to the University of Aberdeen Music Prize 2005.

The individual pieces in this set are also available separately from this website.

Please e-mail me if you wish to obtain parts to perform this piece.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Sheila Smith. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Sheila Smith has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.