Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
80 minutes
Solo instrument (Clarinet in Bb)
Instrumental parts
Not available

The modern generation of commercial tutors seem to have gone away from the basics of providing a simple, progressive tutor, with plenty of material. They have great graphics, or are full of well-known tunes, or try to match progress on a variety of different instruments. Well, this tutor works! It is not full of fancy gimmicks and artwork. Teachers like it and students enjoy it. It is simple, progressive, with plenty of material. There are familiar tunes but hidden away so they must be discovered. There are also some companion pieces which may be used in parallel. There are more detailed comments on page 1. There are 48 pages, which take you into the upper register and cover chromatic notes in the low register, by which time the student should be well prepared for "real" music. The tutor costs a token $1 on this site as ScoreExchange no longer offer scores for free.


Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Alun Cook. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.