Suite for Echo Cornet: 1. Fanfare

Full details...
page one of Suite for Echo Cornet: 1. Fanfare

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Suite is designed to feature an antique echo cornet, once owned by myself and renovated by Sharon McCallum of the Cranbrook Town Band (UK). The instrument was made by Boosey & Co. of London in 1896 and is informally known as "Mr.Ellis" after the name, presumably of the first owner, engraved on the bell. The Suite consists of four contrasting short pieces, all of which demonstrate the cornet’s ability to effortlessly switch from open to muted mode and back again by the operation of a fourth valve. 1. Fanfare: The cornet is introduced straight away by an opening cadenza to be played ad libitum. The middle section is led in by the horns, shortly joined by the rest of the band. It should be taken at a steady but lively pace. The soloist then returns to the opening theme, building up to a powerful finale with the whole band.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Brass band
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Suite for Echo Cornet: 1. Fanfare

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...