Home > Large mixed ensemble > The Larchwood Fugue (from the Larchwood Suite)

The Larchwood Fugue (from the Larchwood Suite)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

Written in 2002 whilst at university, this piece came about as a means of passing time whilst drinking tea and procrastinating round at a student house. Populated by five ladies, they each played instruments that are found in this score (one was a singer - but her part has changed to clarinet as it works better.) Added to this was a part for Tuba (my then flatmate) and organ (myself). It was first performed in June 2002.

The piece is a bit of fun - I hope you enjoy it!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Brian Moles. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Brian Moles has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.