Marseille, Cite Radieus

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Large mixed ensemble
Instrumental parts
Not available

First performed by Coma South in the Southampton City Art Gallery 11th and 12 December 2004.

The music is inspired by the art work by Ben Langlands and Nikki Bell withthe same name.

Langlands and Bell based their work on Le Corbusier's vision for communal living. Up to 1600 people would like in 'unites d'habitation', raw concrete buildings, copies of which can be seen in most cities including Southampton. While the imitations have been reviled, the oridgnial 'unite' still works well as it was designed in a modular structure for functionality and space. The music is made up of small cells taking six notes of a scale, with the following cell taking the other six notes. The cells are modified in a similar way to Le Corbusier's interlacing of different apartment sizes; this process can also be seen in Langlands and Bell's work. From this raw beginning themes are allowed to develop, leading to the repetition of themes in both inversion and transposition of the ordginal idea."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Rathe Hollingum. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Rathe Hollingum has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.