When Peace Might Come (TTBB)

page one of When Peace Might Come (TTBB)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The music was originally written in 1969, for my mother who sang the soprano line, together with her friend, Thea Tagget, contralto, who were both principals with the Plymouth Gilbert & Sullivan Fellowship. The poem I initially set was by a leading English poet, but I have had occasion to substitute my own text, which isn’t nearly as good, but to which I do own the copyright! In fact it was an interesting exercise to add text to a given melody, rather than the other way round, which is the usual order of things.

Recently I received an email from David Saslav, who asked whether the duet might be re-arranged for other voice combinations, especially male voice choir, as David sings in Musaic - a TTBB Chamber Choir in the San Francisco Bay Area. David has his own most interesting website where, amongst other things, he includes some of his own compositions.

I have since made this arrangement for TTBB, but unfortunately overlooked the fact that Musaic is an a cappella ensemble. David has now pointed this out to me, and suggested that, with a little tweaking, here and there, the piano could be dispensed with, and this is what I have now done, with a special a cappella version.

Rather than delete this present accompanied TTBB version altogether, I have decided to leave it where it is. Way back in 1972, I was asked to form a Plymouth Police Choir (see photo), which I did, and where I was their musical director for some ten years. I’ve decided to rededicate this version to them, and hopefully they may well perfom it in this arrangement, sometime!

Score ID
Year of composition
Philip R Buttall
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for When Peace Might Come (TTBB)

Reviews of When Peace Might Come (TTBB)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...