Sinfonies I + II

Full details...
page one of Sinfonies I + II

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

To an extent, the title of this piece is plagiarised. My inspiration for the title came from the piece, Symphonies of Wind Instruments by Igor Stravinsky, in which Stravinsky portrays several ideas in quick succession with each theme being it�s own �symphony�. This is a characteristic demonstrated in my piece also. The first two movements both introduce and develop two contrasting ideas and the third (epilogue) could be seen as a �pot pourri� of all of the themes. The first movement uses a solo horn motif accompanied by the double reeds and against that, a spiky canon by inversion on the flute and clarinet. The second movement develops a quasi-baroque theme against a more flowing melody in triple time whilst also making quotes to the previous movement. The epilogue presents no new material yet employs what has already been heard against an offstage oboe and an offstage Eb clarinet. The piece ends with no true conclusion, just a chaotic mesh of previous motifs, a strident note from the horn and then silence …

Regarding Seating �����������-������������������������� The seating plan for the work is slightly unusual. This is to (hopefully) convey a visual element to the basic idea behind the music. The clarinet and flute should be sat a short (but noticeable) distance from the Horn and the oboe and bassoon likewise. This is due to the development of the material, much of it is introduced by one �group� and developed by the other. It could be likened to an argument between children, one child attempts to make a serious point only for the other to make some silly retort. Of course, a certain degree of acting could be used in performance to emphasise this point but I have not written anything on the parts. This is because I see myself as more of a composer than a theatrical director

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Wind quartet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Sinfonies I + II

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...