Mantras Op.8

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Using ancient Sanskrit mantras that exist for the purposes of yogic meditation, the top line sways through the same four note scheme over the full 12 minutes. The choral layout varies from three-part (SSA), four-part (SATB) to six part (SSATBB), with a brief 7 part section (SSAATBB).

The Mantras explained, listed in order of frequency of use:

Om Namo Narayanaya (Om Na-Mo Naa-Raa-Ya-Na-Ya) Associated with Vishnu, representing the preserving energy that keeps the Universe in balance. A peace mantra of particular use when negative energies seem to be out of control.

Om Sri Durgayai Namah (Om Shree Dur-Ga-Yay Na-Mah) Durga is seen as God as Mother. She is the divine protector. In Her arms She holds all the powers of the Universe. She rides a lion, symbolising the forces of nature.

Om Gam Ganapataye Namah (Om Gam Ga-Na-Pa-Ta-Yay) Ganapathi is another name for Ganesha the elephant-headed deity who is revered as the remover of obstacles and bestower of success.

Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya (Om Na-Mo Ba-Ga-Va-Tay Va-Soo-De-Va-Ya) Krishna is seen as the supreme world teacher, as he is the giver of the Bhagavad Gita, one of the great texts.

Soham (So-Ham) Roughly translates as "I am that I am", meaning that no limitations can be put on the divine. The natural sound of the breath being exhaled and inhaled.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Keith Marr. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Keith Marr has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.