Emoticons III for Reed Quintet

Full details...
page one of Emoticons III for Reed Quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Emoticons III is the third in a series of compositions that are designed to be aural representations of images that reflect emotions. This composition has eight short movements and is scored for wind quintet.

I. Nebulous – The wandering tonality, slow tempo, frequent shifts of color, and lack of cadences gives this movement a feeling of vagueness.

II. Puckish – This Allegretto movement has a playful quality that is created by staccato articulations, melodic leaps, unexpected use of rests and sudden tonality shifts to express an impish quality.

III. Excited – A fast tempo and technical passages along with driving rhythms help this movement express excitement.

IV. Horrified – Angular melodic lines, trills, dissonant chords, extreme ranges, and accents are all used to create this emotional representation.

V. Jocular – This playful movement in an Allegretto tempo uses staccato, syncopation, meter change, dotted rhythms, and angular melodies for its laughing sounds.

VI. Scattered – A Presto tempo with hemiola, staccato notes, and light scoring are used throughout this short movement that feels like it is constantly changing direction.

VII. Regretful – This Lento movement has sad legato lines with unresolved dissonances at the beginning and end. The middle section creates a sense of hope but quickly returns to the sorrowful sound.

VIII. Confident – This movement is in a march style with strong accents. Its clear lines and rhythms help portray strength in one’s beliefs.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Wind quintet
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Emoticons III for Reed Quintet

Reviews of Emoticons III for Reed Quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...