PIATTI, Alfredo - In Vacanza

Quartettino for four cellos

Carlo Alfredo Piatti
Full details...
page one of PIATTI, Alfredo - In Vacanza

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Dedicated to the young cellists from Bergamo Piatti composes the small quartet (Quartettino) In vacanza (On holiday), a Sonata in three movements for four cellos that will receive its première at the final exams in 1891. It is a simply structured piece made of catchy melodies, thick of that irony, that carelessness that probably Piatti reckoned as a fundamental soft skill for young musicians. The first movement, allegro con brio, bears the title Partenza (Departure), the second, andantino quasi allegretto, Arrivo (Arrival), the third, allegretto vivo, Danza rustica (Rustic Dance). It is puzzling to notice the lack of a slow movement or of a Coming Back and we can explain this only in recognising that Piatti, having come to the end of a long career, would have wanted to leave a wishing message to the younglings who were still at the beginning of their road: “may your life be as a long, endless holiday, with no slack moment; may the enthusiasm to push forward never falter you and may even old age have the cheerful rhythm of a dance”.

Score ID
Carlo Alfredo Piatti
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
10 minutes
String quartet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for PIATTI, Alfredo - In Vacanza

Reviews of PIATTI, Alfredo - In Vacanza

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...