From the Center for Small Orchestra

page one of From the Center for Small Orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I was blocked initially composing this piece. To unblock l used the mouse and clicked on various notes at random. From the result, other motives and eventually themes grew and I knew my inspiration.

From the Center examines the experience of first noticing the effect of earlier trauma: the chaos, uncertainty, dissociated memory. Then, gradually, we expereince fragments and reoccuring themes, telling us truths about our past. Though often we find it diffcut to intrepret these correctly, they reoccur as themes and thus guide our trauma work. Since these themes remain consistent, encouraged we continue. More comes to mind and slowly imagery which suggests the trauma, however tragedy, appears. As these images grow, more actual memory returns, and flashbacks, which come from triggered traumatic memory storage in the limbic system of the brain, appear. These play back events as thoguh a video camera shot the scene. As all of this, the safer factional images, the memories, often a bit distorted, and flashbacks, add to our experience, we develop stronger themes and stories to tell. A narrative forms and after a long trial we find peace in the story , the retrieved memory, and the feelings resolves after, in some cases, many, many, long years. The work is not done, until our bodies inform us we may be relieved; we feel together and at peace.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
9 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for From the Center for Small Orchestra

Reviews of From the Center for Small Orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...