Hebrides Overture - Fingal's Cave (Clarinet Choir)

for Clarinet Choir

Felix Mendelssohn arr. Alun Cook
Full details...
page one of Hebrides Overture - Fingal's Cave (Clarinet Choir)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Mendelssohn's Hebrides Overture (Fingal's Cave) conjures up the sea, both lashing in fury on the rocks outside the island of Staffa and in calmer times in the occasional lull between storms. There are energentic moments in the clarinet parts and moments of serene beauty.

This arrangement includes 2 Eb parts (but they are adequately covered by the alternative Bb parts provided), 4 Bbs, 1 Alto (with alternative Bb part), 2 Basses and optional Contra Alto and Contra Bass, so minimum requirements are 7 Bbs and 2 Basses. The 2nd Bass really needs to go down to low C for maximum effect. The energetic sections in the contra parts are at the players discretion depending on the mechanical efficiency of their instruments.

Score ID
Felix Mendelssohn arr. Alun Cook
Difficult (Grades 7+)
11 minutes
Clarinet choir
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Hebrides Overture - Fingal's Cave (Clarinet Choir)

Reviews of Hebrides Overture - Fingal's Cave (Clarinet Choir)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...