Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring

BWV 147

J. S. Bach (1685-1750)
Full details...
page one of Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

“Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring” is the last of a 10-movement piece called “Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben” (BWV 147), which was composed by Bach between 1716 and 1723. And it’s often performed in a slow and reverent manner. It’s commonly used in wedding ceremonies, as well as in a number of Christian seasons (such as Christmas and Easter). While it’s the 32nd surviving cantata by Bach, it was assigned BWV 147 in his catalog of works because it was part of the larger group of works that have been assigned the same number. This arrangement for brass quartet uses many of the same melodies that are iconic for this piece, but some of the harmony needed to be adjusted to fit the instrumentation.

Score ID
J. S. Bach (1685-1750)
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
Brass quartet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...