Valse tragique

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available
Related scores

While searching for a main theme for a new superhero movie I will score later this year, I struggled to find the right style of music. I needed some time but then I figured out, that the theme I was desperately trying to get to work was a valse! After that was set, the rest was easy and this piece was finished in 4 hours of manic work.

It is a waltz, not too difficult to play, but has some tricky fingering in some places. Based on 2 themes, not much thematic work. I tried to move the music through a few styles, to keep it interesting. The final result is a mixture of romantic and modern style, Chopin and Tschaikovsky, with a tiny bit of Jazz-harmony in some places.

I hope you enjoy it. Feedback appreciated. If you buy it, I can buy food (which is good).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Cernuska. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Cernuska has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.