Himno de Riego Variations, Op. 25a

Jose Maria de Reart y Copons
Full details...
page one of Himno de Riego Variations, Op. 25a

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Himno de Riego is an anthem composed in honour of Rafael del Riego, a liberal military man that rose against the despotic Spanish king Fernando VII in 1820. It was the official National Anthem and March during the period of the Second Spanish Republic (1931 - 1939). After the Civil war it was banned and replaced by the current Royal March, or Marcha de Granaderos, by the dictator Franco. Today, this music, which combines a certain popular, street atmosphere with liberal and republican ideals, evokes a certain nostalgia for what was not allowed to be but might be some day.

The authorship of the music is hotly disputed but several historians point at one don Jose Maria de Reart y Copons (1784 - 1857). In essence the piece is a contredanse, which was the ancestor of the 19th-century quadrille. Typically played by military band, I have rendered it for chamber ensemble (string trio and piano). The harmonisation and elaboration of the different parts (except for the original tunes composing the three repeating sections) is wholly mine.

Score ID
Jose Maria de Reart y Copons
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Piano trio
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Himno de Riego Variations, Op. 25a

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...