[�Theme And Accompaniments� would be a more formally academic alternative appellation ; an informal, nonacademic one would be "Milking A Tune".]

Here we have an original 10-bar tune, scribbled down ages ago but forgotten about, given 8 new back-to-back trips through a variety of accompaniments, for which its fickle harmonic allegiances, unhurried tempo and sparse notes equip it well.

In the score, each repetition of the tune begins with a Roman numeral (II � VIII). The tune�s 3 sections migrate freely between octaves, with accompaniment above or below: otherwise the tune remains relatively unscathed en route, apart from occasional accents, dynamics, enforced rests and 2 initial triplets becoming dotted figures. The tempo is strictly 40 b.p.m. throughout until only the penultimate bar: no rubato, fermata or �putting in the expression� ! [Trivia: The tune would be exactly 1 minute long if its final bar were 4/4 like the previous 9 instead of 2/4; which takes off 2 beats = 3 seconds, leaving the 57-second variety.]

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Ralph Schneider. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Ralph Schneider has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.