Eight Variations on Interpretation

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This piece started off as a simple composition practice, and eventually evolved into something that I never had in mind! The very simple and straight-forward theme contains no challenge for the average performer. VARIATION 1 gets a little more challenging with its combination of various accents and dynamic ranges. VARIATION 2 continues the exercise in accents, and introduces more flexibility in the left hand. VARIATION 3 is imitative of nature and introduces a second melody in the left hand. VARIATION 4 introduces new bits of harmony and some octave work. VARIATION 5 has a different rhythm and introduces some exercise for the left hand and a new, accented ending. VARIATION 6 starts with both hands in the bass, slightly altered harmony and introduces a kind of off-beat part in the left hand. VARIATION 7 again continues octave work in both hands and the dynamics move from one extreme to the next. Both hands now contain good finger work. VARIATION 8 contains a rhythmic challenge to the performer and also some very deep bass work.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Anton J Jansen. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Anton J Jansen has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.