Overture from Suite in D from the Water Music for Two Violins & Harpsichord

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument + piano (Solo Violin)
Instrumental parts

An arrangement for two Violins, optional Cello and Harpsichord, from Handel’s Suite for Trumpet in D, also known as the Allegro from the Water Music.

The keyboard part can be performed on a piano or an organ if desired, and a cello may be added if available.

This piece was originally written for solo trumpet, oboes, bassoon, strings and continuo.

This version is arranged for a minimum of two violins and harpsichord if available.

Good harpsichord sounds can be found on modern keyboards nowadays.

This piece would make a fine in or out-going voluntary for a wedding service, and makes an excellent change from Jeremiah Clarke’s Trumpet Voluntary or Trumpet Tune!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Keith Terrett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.