The Lone Ar-ranger! (Brass Quartet)

Full details...
page one of The Lone Ar-ranger! (Brass Quartet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Lone Aranger!, in its version for Brass Quintet, would seem to have been quite successful. However, since it appeared on the website, I have had some enquiries for a quartet version, and especially ones where different instrumental combinations are needed.
Hopefully this version for brass quartet should fill the gap. Two different combinations I have already been asked for are: (a) Two Cornets, Horn & Euphonium, and (b) Two Trumpets & Two Trombones.
I am therefore providing a full score where the top two parts are essentially as for the quintet version (with occasional slight adjustments for part-writing reasons etc.), with Part 3 either for horn or trombone, and Part 4 either for trombone or euphonium. Both Parts 3 and 4 are essentially the same, though with occasional adjustments for their different instrument ranges. In the sets of parts, I have included a Part 3 for Tenor (Eb) Horn, and both Trombone and Euphonium parts are available in treble of bass clef, as necessary. Al Naylor, Trumpet Professor at Coe College, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA, has just asked for a version of Trumpe 2, transposed for Horn in F. This is also now available - there are a couple of ossia suggestions where the original trumpet part might take less experienced players to perhaps dizzying heights!
Following a number of requests worldwide, I have now uploaded a special non-playing score, which lists, and identifies all the tune fragments used in The Lone Ar-ranger!
Click here for further information.

N.B. In the present economic climate, a good number of smaller ensembles understandably buy just the set of parts as, in reality, these alone are all that is needed in performance. Equally, a similar number buy both the parts and the full score. To compensate for this, I intend to reduce the cost of the full score by $4, and increase the price of the lead part by $3, a differential that wasn’t available to sellers at the former

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Brass quartet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for The Lone Ar-ranger! (Brass Quartet)

Reviews of The Lone Ar-ranger! (Brass Quartet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...