Home > Duet > Three Flirtations for Oboe and Trumpet

Three Flirtations for Oboe and Trumpet

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

"Three Flirtations" is a musical description of courtship. The three movements are cyclical in that the recurring descending minor triad "motif of love" occurs in all three movements. "Innocent" is a flirtation between two good friends whose friendship is blossoming into love but they don’t quite know it. The movement begins playfully with dotted rhythms and short scale motifs. The "motif of love" appears several times within the playful sections. Towards the end of the movement, the playfulness becomes tenderer as the couple senses, but is not quite sure that there is something more to the friendship. The playfulness returns, but the movement ends with uncertainty about the depth of the relationship. "Sultry" can be described as a dance of seduction with both parties overtly expressing their attraction to each other, yet with an air of mystery. The "motif of love" appears only a few times in this movement as underlying suggestion that the attraction is based on more than the physical. The movement ends more tenderly than it began therefore reinforcing the underlying love. This movement can be played on English Horn and Fleugel Horn by downloading the part called English Horn. "Coy" begins with the "motif of love" transformed into a staccato teasing motif. The more aggressive teasing and playfulness permeate this movement but two lyrical sections that are more innocent in nature interrupt it. The ending builds in intensity along with the passion of the two lovers but ends with a brief return to the playful ideas .

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Sy Brandon. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Sy Brandon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.