Fenton-Opal Nocturnes (Number 1)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the first in a series of short pieces for solo piano, composed for - and dedicated to - members of Vic Carnall's family, his friends, and his piano-playing acquaintances. / The title? Fenton - the composer's home town; Opal - the name of the road where he now resides. / This particular work was written for one of Vic's former French students, Amy Freund, in celebration of her 21st birthday (09/09/2005)…the Nocturne is just 21 bars in length, and the dedicatee's initials, A and F, represent the two notes which dominate the composition. / The pianist should definitely NOT play this piece in strict tempo…"Molto espressivo" and "Poco rubato" throughout will certainly result in a more successful interpretation. /

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Vic Carnall. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Vic Carnall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.