Four Pieces for Solo Piano, Op. 1

page one of Four Pieces for Solo Piano, Op. 1

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Garritan Audio Demo available on YouTube

This first opus is made up of four separate piano pieces. These pieces were not conceived as a unity; however, they present some musical elements in common. They all employ a simple tonal/modal harmonic language. They demand some degree of technical virtuosity from the performer, and they present a great deal of textural saturation, particularly in the lower register.

The first piece, Phrygian Rhapsody, consists on an exploration of the harmonic possibilities of the Phrygian mode and the Mixolydian mode. The Phrygian theme is accompanied with dark, saturated sounds. The Mixolydian theme uses both the highest and the lowest registers, and, although it also exhibits some degree of textural saturation, it achieves a much brighter effect.

The second piece, Rain, is built upon a harmonic progression that exploits the parallel fifths instead of avoiding them. The initial musical ideas would undergo further development procedures, resulting in a piece that is somewhat reminiscent of Celtic music.

The third piece, Noel, imitates the romantic style of Chopin’s nocturnes. Some sections are built upon modal centres that set slightly apart from the traditional major and minor modes. The choice of writing a piece with complex tonal and harmonic structures, and with rhythmic irregularities, was part of the original idea of challenging the performer’s score-reading and performance abilities.

The fourth piece, Ionian Fantasy, was conceived as a sonata form. However, the overall development exceeded the traditional restraints of such musical form. Out of the sections that were meant to serve as connections between the main thematic groups, new themes appeared. Therefore, the piece transformed into some sort of fantasy with free thematic structure. The reference to the Ionian mode, instead of the major mode, suggests that this piece also carries out an exploration of modal scalar systems that enrich the traditional major and minor scales.

Copyright © 2014 Daniel Cuéllar-Trujillo. All rights reserved.
This work is registered with Registration ID: 2111135

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
18 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Four Pieces for Solo Piano, Op. 1

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...