Suite Thirty-Six, Op. 7

page one of Suite Thirty-Six, Op. 7

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Garritan Audio Demo available on YouTube

This is a dodecaphonic and free-serial piece. Its numerical title doesn’t refer to similar suites composed previously, but to the fact that it's based on three twelve-note series. The first series is based on perfect fourth and major second intervals, and it’s organized into four consecutive three-note blocks. The second series is a connection between the first one and the third one, and it’s divided into three four-note blocks. The third series increases the overall dissonance, as it’s based on minor second intervals.

The Suite is organized into seven movements. The concept of “mirror” is essential from a structural standpoint. The four Promenades present similar textural ideas. The first one carries out a free serial treatment of the first series, with repeated chordal blocks and fragmented melodic lines. Canons 1 and 2 are based on a strict dodecaphonic contrapuntal treatment of the second series. They are mutual reversed mirrors: the second Canon is an exact retrograded version of the first one. Promenades 2 and 3 employ the second and the third series to develop some textural ideas of the first movement. These are mutual indirect mirrors, as, although they aren’t based on retrogradations, they both have the same structural design, rhythm, articulations, dynamics, and texture, only differing in the actual pitches that are coded according to their respective twelve-tone series. The Minuet uses the third series in a strictly dodecaphonic style. The Trio section explores the piano’s upper register, and it uses the three series at the same time, in a three-part contrapuntal texture. It represents the piece’s climax, exhibiting a much more limpid texture whilst presenting a higher conceptual density.

The last Promenade develops all the material presented in previous movements, based on the three series. The final climax, composed with series one and two, creates a fictional effect of tonal stability, but this is due to the intervallic setup of those series, and to their common harmonic structures. Just as Canons 1 and 2 were retrograded mirrors, and Promenades 2 and 3 are mutual “reflections”, this last Promenade is indirectly related to the first Promenade’s form and texture. The “mirror” is evident in the way the whole piece is organized: the first movement is related to the last one; the second one to the penultimate one; the third one to the antepenultimate one. Finally, the fourth movement also has a mirrored structure (ABA), where the Trio section constitutes the Suite’s centre.

Copyright © 2017 Daniel Cuéllar-Trujillo. All rights reserved.
This work is registered with Registration ID: 2094862

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
18 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Suite Thirty-Six, Op. 7

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...