Theme and Four Variations for Piano

Jonathan Mitchell
Full details...
page one of Theme and Four Variations for Piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Semplice - The main theme is a simple minor melody in two parts. The theme is slightly sad, but with a hint of optimism. Variation I - Leggero. The right hand sets off a series of runs. The first variation is light and airy. The second part of the variation is played softly and gently, maintaining the light feel, it rises in the final bars in preparation for a change of mood. Variation II - Precipitoso/Sottomesso. This is played impetuously and freely to convey a spirit of liveliness. The second part is delivered in a subdued fashion, growing in volume for the third variation which marks the climax of the piece. Variation III -Molto mosso. The timing changes to 4/4 and this is delivered with furious pace and energy. This is the longest variation and slows slightly to pass smoothly into the final variation and allow the time change back to 6/8. Variation IV - Dolce. This is simple major variant of the main theme, delivered sweetly. It is intended to calm, in sharp contrast to Variation III. It passes back into the minor for the reprise of the original theme and the work is terminated by a simple semiquaver coda.

Score ID
Jonathan Mitchell
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
Solo instrument (Piano)
Classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Theme and Four Variations for Piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...