Piano Suite

page one of Piano Suite

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Piano Suite was a study in creating a cohesive collection of movements representing both absolute and program music. Cast as a theme and variations, Movement I was influenced by the music of Brahms and Schoenberg through their thematic variation. From the first notes of Movement II each of the pianists hands play a wide range apart and throughout the work only occasionally do the hands meet in the middle range of the piano. This movement also features arpeggiated figures and syncopation giving the work a jazz-like flavor. Containing a theme similar to that heard in Movement I, Movement III is harmonized using major and minor 7ths. Only a minute long, this movement follows without break to the final movement. Subtitled "Happy Bird, Hungry Cat" the final movement refers to images of a bird singing, a cat pouncing, both giving chase, and at the final chord - a terminal CHOMP! Influenced by cartoon-music and the Hungarian folk music of Bartok, this piece uses common compositional textures and devices such as a lyrical melody with chordal accompaniment and ostinato.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Piano Suite

Reviews of Piano Suite

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...