Dido & Aeneas Orchestral Suite

Henry Purcell
Full details...
page one of Dido & Aeneas Orchestral Suite

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Description: The ‘Dido & Aeneas Orchestral Suite’ is a 21st Century Imagineering of Henry Purcell’s legendary work, told through a special selection of instrumental dances and never seen before new orchestrations of key vocal sections. This fifteen minute programmatic experience for Symphonic String Orchestra and Piano is in five key movements and includes specially composed parts for Double Bass and a fully integrated Piano part as key players within the ensemble. It is a bold, exciting and wildly emotional Imagineering of the Dido & Aeneas tragedy.

Performance/Conductor Notes: This piece is not for the faint-hearted. It is a complete Imagineering of key musical structures, melodies and harmonies, carefully condensed into an emotional fifteen minute orchestral experience. Free from Baroque constraints, it now includes specially composed parts for Double Bass and fully integrated Piano plus a 21st Century realization and extemporization on key musical themes. Movement V, the Lament may also include an optional Viola/Violin III solo.

The five movements are linked through the original story, key, tempo and mood. They could, however, be performed as stand-alone extracts. Dynamics, articulations and tempo markings are carefully notated to ‘speak’ the text of the characters, so conductors should be encouraged to take them to the extremes without any fear of the original Baroque limitations.

This is one of Henry Purcell’s finest works and this bold new Imagineering should be confidently and stylistically performed by any true 21st Century visionary ensemble.

Suitable for Concerts, Festivals and Orchestral Clinics and may also be performed by a smaller String Chamber Group.

Score ID
Henry Purcell
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
String orchestra
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Dido & Aeneas Orchestral Suite

Reviews of Dido & Aeneas Orchestral Suite

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...