Bourrée and Hornpipe, arranged for instruments in four parts - Score and Parts

Movements 7 and 8 from Water Music Suite No. 1 in F major (HMV 348)

George Frideric Handel
Full details...
page one of Bourrée and Hornpipe, arranged for instruments in four parts - Score and Parts

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Bourrée and Hornpipe - Movements 7 and 8 from Water Music Suite No. 1 in F major (HMV 348) - composed by George Frideric Handel (1685 - 1759). Arranged by Paul Burnell for instruments in four parts.

Download file comprises score and all parts.

Duration if both movements are played three times c.4:30

Score in C

The arrangement is suitable for multiple quartet combinations with parts available (and potential instrumentations suggested) as follows:

Part 1: C, Eb (flute, oboe, alto recorder, Eb clarinet, violin 1) Part 2: C, Bb (oboe, tenor recorder, Bb clarinet, violin 2) Part 3: C - alto & bass clefs, Bb, Eb, F (Bb clarinet, bass recorder, alto saxophone, horn in F, viola) Part 4: C - bass clef, Bb, F (bassoon, great bass recorder, tenor saxophone, horn in F, 'cello)

Part 4 may be played an octave lower than written.

Any other appropriate instruments, even if not suggested above, may play.

Although the score is presented with a layout appropriate for string quartet this does not indicate a preferred instrumentation.

Both movements in various editions of the score include direction on playing each movement three times and suggestions for instrumentation (strings first time, wind 2nd time, tutti 3rd time). Performers of this arrangement may choose to devise a similar scheme providing there are enough players in the ensemble.

In this arrangement the range of each part has been reduced, some notes from the melody have been moved to Part 2 and additional rests introduced to assist with breathing for wind players.

Programme note:

The Water Music is a collection of orchestral movements composed by George Frideric Handel (1685 - 1759). It was first performed on the River Thames in London on 17 July 1717, in response to King George I's request for a concert on the River.

The Water Music has been published as three suites, and the Bourrée and Hornpipe appear as movements 7 and 8 in the Suite No. 1 in F major (HMV 348).

Score ID
George Frideric Handel
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Bourrée and Hornpipe, arranged for instruments in four parts - Score and Parts

Reviews of Bourrée and Hornpipe, arranged for instruments in four parts - Score and Parts

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...