Hear my prayer, O Lord

Henry Purcell
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Purcell's well-known 'Hear my prayer, O Lord' is recognised to be the first section of an otherwise unwritten work, presumably with texts drawn from a Psalm or Psalms. The fragment survives in a single manuscript, in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge, in the composer's own hand, and the following pages are ruled in preparation for the work which was never pursued.

The present edition follows the transcription made for his 1846 edition by Vincent Novello. Like other modern editions, I follow also Novello's suggestion of giving the work in the key signature of 3 flats, with the necessary adjustments.

The underlay is mostly obvious, but in some places I have differed both from Novello and from Watkins Shaw (Novello & Company Ltd. 1969).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.