The Hebrides Overture

Felix Mendelssohn
Full details...
page one of The Hebrides Overture

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Hebrides Overture, or Fingal's Cave, was written in 1800 following Mendelssohn's inspiring visit to the Scottish island of Staffa, famous for it's basalt sea cave. The tone poem is around 11 minutes long and is one of the most famous orchestral pieces of the era. The colours work incredibly well for wind quintet, and as such this piece would make a great inclusion to any concert programme.

The PDF download contains a full score and all 5 parts: flute, oboe, clarinet in A, horn in F, and bassoon. There is also an alternative clarinet part in Bb.

Score ID
Felix Mendelssohn
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Wind quintet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The Hebrides Overture

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...