Earth, the Giver of Life

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

As it has recently become fashionable, it seems, to compose new movements for Holst's wonderful masterpiece, 'The Planets', I have decided to have a go. I wasn't too impressed by a recent attempt by another composer, and someone suggested to me that there ought to be a movement for Earth. So this is my attempt. I should stress, however, that this is conceived as a 'companion piece' to 'The Planets', not an extra movement to be inserted into that work - an idea which I think is the height of arrogance. The 'idea' of the piece is that we approach 'The Blue Planet' from far off in space, see it shimmering in the distance, then sweep in and execute a low pass, witnessing the beauty and grandeur of our home planet (the big organ solo in the middle), then gradually fly off into space again, looking back and seeing the great globe recede into infinity. If anyone knows of an orchestra big enough and interested in playing the piece, I'd be only to glad to provide a set of parts!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Laurence Hughes. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Laurence Hughes has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.