Magnificat anima mea dominum

My soul doth magnify the Lord

Full details...
page one of Magnificat anima mea dominum

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

"My soul doth magnify the LORD, and my spirit doth rejoice in God, my saviour."

Reviews from

  • Simply breathtaking
    "I was first drawn to this composer's work through his stunning setting of that tricky text, the Stabat Mater - a very fine collection of movements indeed. William Walton once remarked that the Magnificat was an uninteresting text to set (he said the same of most texts in the Anglican liturgy), but I am thrilled to see that Mr Grahame has risen to the challenge and succeeded. The variance within the piece is excellent, and the whole reminds me of a modern version of a late-medieval votive antiphon motet. It is a challenging work to sing - the composer makes severe demands on the performers in order to get his interpretation across. Personally, I was very keen on the repeated sections (eg 'Esurientes implevit bonis'), the low voice sections (eg 'Fecit potentiam') and the high soprano solo for the Gloria, reminding us of the author of the text, just as at the opening - it's a hard solo (as is the high tenor part at the end), but works beautifully. All in all, another superb triumph from this remarkable young composer."

    J J Hutchings

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
14 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

You might also like...