Cello Concerto (cello & orchestra)

Hayg Boyadjian
Full details...
page one of Cello Concerto (cello & orchestra)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The cello concerto is in three contrasting movements. The first movement is a dramatic reflection on the turmoils of a typical modern city. apid passages with clashing harmonies convey the chaotic atmosphere of the day. In between we have short calmer passages that gives a breathing to the more tempestuous moments. The solo cello plays a primary role in leading the orchestra in these very active and calmer moods as an anchor. The second movement is a tranquil meditation on the transitional passage of life's more intimate moments. To reflect on the everyday conflicts and resolutions. A look to past glories and future endeavors. The third movement in its zealous activity brings us rays of hope for a future that promises better days ahead. It is an optimistic statement of purpose. In the end we shall triumph over all the negative moments that befalls us. Thus the concerto ends very quietly in a statement of hope. Musically the concerto uses as a building block two main intervals: the fouth and the fifth. The interval of the fourth is derived from the scale used since antiquity in Armenian church music called "sharagan" and in Armenian folk music. The interval of the fifth comes from Western traditional harmony. Thi is a combination that I use often in my more recent music.

Score ID
Hayg Boyadjian
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
20 minutes
Orchestra + solo Solo Violoncello
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Cello Concerto (cello & orchestra)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...