Matilda Goes Walkabout! (Viola & Piano)

Full details...
page one of Matilda Goes Walkabout! (Viola & Piano)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Since my dear Mum passed away, at Easter, 2004, I haven’t really come up with anything new, as I have been busy with making various bespoke arrangements of some of my earlier pieces.
Rather than spend our first Christmas alone in the UK, this year dad and I (see picture) went to Sydney, Australia, for the festive season and new year, and, whilst it wasn’t my first trip down-under, we had a lovely time and were made to feel so very welcome.
Earlier this year, Nigel Wood, who runs Saxtet Publications, who publish my music for saxophone, asked me whether I’d like to write him a new piece to show off his latest ’toy’ - the Soprillo saxophone. He wanted something showy, but fun, and which would hopefully exploit the instrument’s capabilities. Perhaps because I had the idea of doing something with Waltzing Matilda, I set about writing an antipodean fantasy, Waltzing Soprillda. At the time, I felt that the top line could also be taken by the clarinet, and so I made an arrangement for this, too, and this is now also published by Saxtet Publications, and which should hopefully make a good concert encore!
The basic plan is something which has been done before, of course - taking a well-known popular, or folk tune, and presenting it as different composers might have done. The sections are pretty self-explanatory, and the tune is never very far away. The alla antipodean section is simply the tune upside down - or downunder, you might say. Just at the end, there’s a brief reference to Australia’s ’national anthem,’ as I’m sure, given time, and with subsequent generations, Australia will become a Republic in its own right.
This present version for viola is a natural enough transition, as the two instruments’ ranges sit quite comfortably together. Traditionally the viola seems rarely to get too much of the fun, and as my piece is decidely light-weight and humorous (hopefully!), I thought it could perhaps fill a gap in the viola-music market! I have had to make a few adjustments to the clarinet version, but, of course, the viola has provided the added bonus of using double and multiple stops, as well as arco and pizzicato. Melanie Brindle, a leading Plymouth viola player, and member of the Seamoor String Quartet, will hopefully be giving the work its first UK performance before too long!
The viola and clarinet versions aren’t, however, interchangeable, so if it’s the clarinet version you want, then I’m afraid the viola version won’t be suitable for your needs.––
As the clarinet version is now published separately (click [[|here]] for full details), I have removed this particular score from SibeliusMusic.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Solo Solo Viola + piano
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Matilda Goes Walkabout! (Viola & Piano)

Reviews of Matilda Goes Walkabout! (Viola & Piano)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...