Classically Trained Blues

Full details...
page one of Classically Trained Blues

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

A simple chart over blues changes. The intro is interesting, as it is almost choral in nature, and should be played with a classical feel until bar 10 (where marked). The tempo of the swing section is marked .| = 150, however, I normally play it a shade above that, around the 170 - 180 mark.

All the sections take tune parts, with cues marked in on saxes for Tpt 4 and Tbns 3 and 4 in places. These cues are really for emergancy only, as ideally the piece works better with just the one section playing their tune.

I havent finished formatting the parts - please email if you want a set before I upload them.

Note quite sure what happened to the tempo change, hopefully it works now

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Big band

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Classically Trained Blues

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...