Home > Orchestra > Isabella Maddalena's Third Christmas (2005)

Isabella Maddalena's Third Christmas (2005)

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
15 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

This year I've gone to town with a quarter of an hour's pot-pourri of Advent and Christmas carols. If you don't recognise some of them (and one is being heard here for the first time!, please ask. But they go in this order: O come, O come, Emmanuel;Let all mortal flesh keep silence; I saw three ships come sailing in; In dulci iulbilo; the Coventry Carol; Christians awake! salute the happy morn; Silent night; the Coventry Carol (again); Joseph dearest, Joseph mine; Sleep, holy babe; On Christmas night all Christians sing. I'm sure you'll all recognise the allusions to Mendelssohn's Fingal's Cave overture at two points in the proceedings. You may be less familiar with the allusion to Bax's Tintangel tone poem as the three ships sail in. 'Sleep, holy babe' is by me. As are all the interludes and linkage material, more or less clearly inviting you to Rejoice!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Graham G. Marshall. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Graham G. Marshall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.