BACH, J. S. - CHACONNE from the IV partita for Violin Transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

J.S. Bach
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Solo Viola)
Instrumental parts

BACH � this is a name never to be mentioned without reverence. Those who know what it represents never mention it without love. The supreme musical genius of the late Baroque period occupies a central position in the most gifted family in musical history. Of all the music written for unaccompanied solo Violin, his six Sonatas and Partitas occupy a position at the pinnacle of the genre, and are a source of constant joy and a lifetime of study to the serious student of the Violin. When I was a student at the Royal College of Music I asked my professor the brilliant Bernard Shore (who was a pupil of Lionel Tertis ) what I should play at a forthcoming audition for a top London Orchestra, and without a moments hesitation he suggested the Bach Chaconne from the fourth partita in D minor. I started work on the transcription at once � it was a labour of love, and I now have great pleasure in presenting it here for all serious Viola players.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.