Home > Solo instrument > JOB'S STUDIES op62. Cl. solo

JOB'S STUDIES op62. Cl. solo

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Clarinet in Bb)
Instrumental parts
Not available

FOUR STUDIES (Based on the Book of Job), Op. 62 for clarinet solo were written in July 1991 in the small village of Cwm in Shropshire. The Book of Job caught my attention because of the beautiful illustrations by William Blake, and my work is in part musical commentary on them. The caption written above or below each of Blake's pictures is read first by clarinetist who then plays the melodic phrases representing these words, translated into notes by musical means, i.e. letter=note. 1. There was a Man in the Land of Uz (Ch.1: 1-2); 2. The fire is fallen from Heaven (Ch.1: 16); 3. Let the day perish wherein I was born (Ch. 3:3); 4. Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind (Ch. 38:1-2). Before the end, the clarinetist sings the folk tune Job (Come all you worthy Christian men) while playing a different melodic line. Listening to the first performance of the work (25 October 1991 in Ohio State University, Columbus with Bruce Curlette as soloist) I had feeling that the work is more akin to a sermon in music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Dmitri N. Smirnov. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Dmitri N. Smirnov has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.