Brooks-Davies: A Shropshire Pastorale for oboe and string orchestra

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
Orchestra + solo (Oboe)
Instrumental parts
Related scores
CHRISTMAS CAROLS FROM POLAND FOR STRING ENSEMBLE (SET 2), BUTTERWORTH, George: The Banks of Green Willow, arr. for Flute Choir (4fl, afl, bfl), BROOKS-DAVIES, Douglas: A Shropshire Pastoral for oboe d’amore and string orchestra, Haydn: Piano Sonata no 54 in G for Wind Quintet, Vanhal, Johann Baptist: Flute Quartet in F (fl, vln, vla, cello), Godard, Benjamin: Suite de Trois Morceaux, Op. 116 arranged for Flute Choir (3 fl, alto fl, bass fl), Christmas Carols from Poland for Wind Quintet, Christmas Carols from Poland for string ensemble, Elgar, Edward: Salut d’amour, Op. 12 for flute choir (3fl, alt.fl., bass), Brooks-Davies: Lullaby for flute and clarsach, Brooks-Davies: Suite for Flute Choir (picc., 3 fl, alto fl, bass fl), Elgar, Edward: Salut d’amour for flute and piano, Brooks-Davies: Presto for string orchestra, Brooks-Davies: Adagietto for String Orchestra, Brooks-Davies: A Shropshire Lad, Poem 36 (White in the moon the long road lies), Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 8, #46 in G minor for string orchestra., Mozart, Piano Sonata in F (K.547a) for wind quintet, movt. 1 (Allegro), Mozart, Piano sonata in F (K.547a) for wind quintet, movt. 2 (Allegretto), Tchaikovsky: Waltz of the Flowers from the Nutcracker Suite for wind quintet, Brooks-Davies: A First Suite for Classical Guitar, Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 8, #48 for wind quartet (fl, ob, clt, bassoon), Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 5, #28 in G for string orchestra., Hopkins: We Three Kings of Orient are, arr. for flute, oboe and piano, Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 8, #45 in C for string orchestra or string quartet. , Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 2, #7 in E flat for string orchestra, Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 1, #6 in G minor for oboe and piano, Brooks-Davies: Night Piece for oboe and piano, Christmas Carol Medley: Eleven European Carols for flutes, oboe and keyboard, Brooks-Davies: Tarantella (No 3 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Bach, J.S.: Flute Sonata in D (BWV 1028) from the viola da gamba sonata., Brooks-Davies: Idyll for oboe and piano, Brooks-Davies: Allegro moderato (No 2 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Brooks-Davies: Air (No 1 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Brooks-Davies: Allegretto grazioso (No 4 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Czerny: Sonatina in F (1st movement) for wind quintet, Brooks-Davies: Rondino poco Latino for solo flute, Brooks-Davies: The Happy Poodle: For Harriet (simple piano solo) and Brooks-Davies: The Lazy Cuckoo: For Harriet (simple piano solo)

The origins of this piece lie in a setting for tenor and piano of A.E.Housman’s Shropshire Lad, poem 36 (White in the moon the long road lies) which I wrote in 1962-3 while an undergraduate at Brasenose College, Oxford. I laid it aside for many years, but the melody kept on insisting, and fragments of it emerged in my Advent Anthem (2000), a setting of Christina Rossetti’s ’The Advent moon shines cold and clear’. It takes on a fuller and more final form in the present Pastorale, a homage not only to Housman and an almost-lost ’Englishness’, but also to my many years spent playing (trying to play?) the oboe - a Howarth, of course! - as I listened with admiration to Leon Goossens, Evelyn Rothwell, Janet Craxton, Heinz Holliger and, more relatively recently, Nicholas Daniel. The piece’s final form has now (2014) emerged as a slight rearrangement for oboe d’amore and strings (also on Score Exchange).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.