Baroque Sonata for Musette in E Flat - Intrada

Full details...
page one of Baroque Sonata for Musette in E Flat - Intrada

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Baroque:- 1.Extravagant, complex, or bizarre, especially in ornamentation: �the baroque, encoded language of post-structural legal and literary theory� (Wendy Kaminer). 2.Irregular in shape: baroque pearls.

There has always been a part of me which has wanted to rebel against new music, something inside me has always wanted to revert to writing in an older style. However, the more I embrace writing in a modern idiom the more attached I become to it. This piece became my medium, and by calling it a �Baroque� sonata, I somehow appeased myself. The sonata is in 3 movements. The first, Intrada, exploits the multiphonic abilities of the instrument. At some times there is an effect of an ensemble of oboes and sometimes just a simple dance and the movement develops through the interplay between these. The second movement aims to give the effect of an improvised melody, slow and gentle it meanders around with more and more embellishments until the music simply fades out, in a way not dissimilar to the first movement. Perpetuum Mobile is the final movement, marked inflessible (relentless) it �flies� around exploiting the range of the instrument and the virtuosity of the player.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Solo instrument (Oboe)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Baroque Sonata for Musette in E Flat - Intrada

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...