These approachable duets are an excellent introduction to the style of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). He composed them in Vienna in 1786 for "horn," possibly basset horn. The twelve duets are in the order Allegro, Menuetto, Andante, Polonaise, Larghetto, Menuetto, Adagio, Allegro, Menuetto, Andante, Menuetto, and Allegro. The duets provide an opportunity to explore and enjoy the music of the Classical period. All dynamics in parentheses are my editorial suggestions; the other dynamics are as indicated in the original. I have compressed the range in some places. I have transposed the entire piece from the original keys proportionally, in order to maintain the important tonic-dominant relationships of the overall key structure. Historical performance note: For the movements marked "menuetto," play the menuetto section as written, then the trio section as written, then end by playing the menuetto once more without repeats.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Mark Feezell, Ph.D.. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Mark Feezell, Ph.D. has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.