Grave - doppio movimento (Chopin - Sonata no.2 mvt.1)

Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
Classical music
Duet (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

An arrangement of the rather difficult Chopin sonata in Bb minor for piano duet. each hand from the original spread across 2 to make it a bit easier (i hope). it's my attempt to try to simplify Chopin's music and make it a bit more accesible to more people. this gives a chance to really "lay into" the piano (expressivly of course) and really feel the music and enjoy it - which can often be lost with some pieces.

the primo part is about grade 5-6 with the secondo part a bit harder so maybe for the teacher but see what happens. reagarding the cross rhythms (triplet against 4), just feel the strong beat throughout. there are none of these in one part, but there are some across the parts. just try your best and keep the most importand one (normally in the primo part) exact.

please let me know how this goes down as a duet. i havn't really checked how well the piece fits together but i think the majority of it will be fine.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Rob Bell. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Rob Bell has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.