Flight of Fancy

Full details...
page one of Flight of Fancy

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The idea behind the piece was to write a short, showy piece for quintet, that would be suitable for use in most settings (i.e. a concert setting or a background music setting, etc.), used contemporary harmony, but was still accessible for most audience members to listen to, and not be put off by the 'modern sound'. As an active player in several brass quintets, I am used to the problem of wanting to provide interesting music for an audience, but not wanting to put them off with too many extended pieces of �modern music�. I have found people often respond better to short nuggets of contemporary sounds, rather than overloading them. I hope this piece can add to that range of repertoire.

This piece is dedicated to The Victoria Brass Quintet, who gave the premiere on October 15th 2005.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
1 minute
Brass quintet
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Flight of Fancy

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...