Courante from from Suite No. 1 in G Major for Solo Cello (arranged for Solo Euphonium amd Brass Quintet)

Johann Sebastian Bach
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Brass quintet

I arranged this piece originally for cello and brass quintet (err) to be played with a young man, who is a cellist at his Bar Mitvah. . . long story. . . it didn't happen and. . . unfortunately this left me with a useless arrangemnt for Cello and Brass Quintet. I am presenting it here in the hopes someone might use it. I have changed the cello part to a Euphonium part and put the whole thing down a step from it's original key of G Major. I'd love to know if anyone has any success with it. . . of course if you want the original version for Cello and Brass Quintet. . . I'd be more than happy to arrange for you to have a copy.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Warren Wernick. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Warren Wernick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.