Home > Orchestra > Stars Over Eger

Stars Over Eger

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
20 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Stars over Eger is a tone poem inspired by the novel of the same name, sometimes translated into English as Eclipse of the Crescent Moon, written by Geza Gardonyi of Hungary. It is about a young boy who grows up to become a soldier amidst the Turkish invasion of Hungary in the 16th century, and the culmination of the story being the successful defense of the small, outnumbered fortress of Eger against an 80,000 man Turkish army. As pertaining to any epic novel, there is palace intrigue, courtly romance, fast-paced action and adventure, exotic vistas, and the authors wit, of which I have attempted to evoke through this composition, with its use of motifs from Hungarian, Turkish, and Arabic styles.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Benjamin Sajo. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Benjamin Sajo has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.