Dramatic Cantata

Year of composition
Pavel Chenarev
Difficult (Grades 7+)
22 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

this is rather a short opera. it is based on the last scene of the play "Dowerless Girl" by Ostrovsky. basically what happens in the play is that a girl is marrying a man she doesnt love because of her family's financial position. some time later her lover of the past comes back and seduces her again, he convinces her to run away with him on his cruising boat. after he sleeps with her he tells her that he can not be with her because he is engaged to someone else. this leads into the final scene that i adopted into my own version and wrote the music to. in the last scene she sings of her sadness from the deck of the ship and after her fiance comes to find her. He had found out that she was goign to that ship earlier and had taked a boat there. he tries to convince her to come back to him but she doesnt wnat to and tells him to leave. after some time of begging and arguing he shoots her. hearing a shot her lover and one of her other friends come to see what happened. they all sing a quartet and she dies.

the time of the events is around 1850s and i changed the names form the original text to Aurora, Julius-her fiance. Dante-her lover and Alfred-her childhood friend.

ive worked long and hard on this, i think its one of my best compositions so for but i still might change a few things.

i would greatlyyy appriciate any critisim and feedback or even in someone listened through the whole 22 minutes of it.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Pavel Chenarev. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Pavel Chenarev has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.