:022 Opus: Chorale (Il Mezzogiorno) from Una Sinfonia Del Balletto

Full details...
page one of :022 Opus: Chorale (Il Mezzogiorno) from Una Sinfonia Del Balletto

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

this work for String Orchestra, received honorable mention along with 19 other entrants in the FAUXHARMONIC ADAGIO contest. The following note is excerpted from the Fauxharmonic website):

Honorable Mention . . . These composers submitted impressive works that deserve to be recognized. Nearly all of the 166 entries were very good compositions. However, these twenty pieces stood out in particular for their outstanding quality and emotional power . . .

Joseph Virgilio - Il Mezzogiorno

1st performance, April 1, 2012 by the New York Late Starters String Orchestra in New York City.

The second section from my first larger scale work for symphony orchestra, the subtitle of the section, Il Mezzogiorno, or midday is meant to suggest a rest (from the activities of the opening movement). A noontime nap maybe, in the glen, before the inevitable encounter with the forest sprites in the subsequent movement! Il Mezzogiorno also denotes a large portion of Southern Italy including Foggia in Apulia and Enna in Sicilia where my grandparents emigrated from in the late 19th and early 20th century.

NOTE: for sales to continue to be viable for the independent publisher with ScoreExchange’s ’multiple print for one price’ sales policy, we have had to increase our asking price. We will continue to offer discounted pricing offline. Feel free to contact the publisher directly with your requests.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
String orchestra
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for :022 Opus: Chorale (Il Mezzogiorno) from Una Sinfonia Del Balletto

You might also like...