Gymnopedie No.1 - recorder quartet

Erik Satie
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Quartet (Soprano Recorder)
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Suo Gan - trombone quartet, Deck The Halls With Catchy Rhythms! - recorder quartet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - trombone quartet, Suo Gan - flute quartet, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - flute quartet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - flute choir, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - flute quartet, Silent Night - wind quintet, Rhapsody in Blue - brass ensemble, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - flute choir, Rhapsody in Blue - brass band, Divertissimo No.4 (Menuetto) - brass quintet, Fur Elise - string quartet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - brass quintet, Fur Elise - clarinet quintet, Rhapsody in Blue - sax ensemble, Fur Elise - brass quintet, Silent Night - brass quintet, The Great Gate of Kiev from ’Pictures’ - saxophone ensemble, Silent Night - clarinet quintet, Chorale Theme from the Organ Symphony (No.3, Op.78) - brass ensemble, Borghild’s Dream - brass quintet, Divertissimo No.3 (Andantino) - brass quintet, Promenade from ’Pictures’ - brass ensemble, Pizzicati from ’Sylvia’ - flute quartet, 15 Christmas Carols for saxophone quartet, The Great Gate of Kiev from ’Pictures’ - brass ensemble, Clarinet Quintet KV581 (3rd movement) - clarinet quintet, Clarinet Quintet KV581 (2nd movement) - clarinet quintet, 15 Christmas Carols for wind (mixed), American Patrol - clarinet quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No.5, 3rd movement - string quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No.5, 3rd movement - clarinet quintet, Largo from Xerxes - flute quartet, Divertissimo No.4 (Menuetto) - recorder quartet, Triumphal March based on Nun Danket Alle Gotte - brass quintet, Promenade from ’Pictures’ - saxophone ensemble, Divertissimo No.3 (Andantino) - recorder quartet, Divertissimo No.3 (Andantino) - sax quartet, Divertissimo No.3 (Andantino) - wind quintet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - recorder quartet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - wind quintet, The Arrival of The Queen of Sheba - clarinet quintet, Canon and Gigue - recorder quintet, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - recorder quartet, Divertissimo No.2 (Waltz) - sax quartet, The 12 Days of Christmas - sax ensemble, Concerto for Mandolin and Strings (1st mvt) Gimo 297 - wind quintet, Brandenburg Concerto No.3, 1st movement - brass quintet, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - brass ensemble, Turkish Rondo - sax ensemble, David of the White Rock - string quartet, Myfanwy - string quartet, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - string quartet, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - string quartet, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - string quartet, Suo Gan - string quartet, Gnossienne No.1 - brass quintet, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - brass quintet, Scherzo & Trio from the 2nd Symphony - brass quintet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - brass quintet, Londonderry Air (Danny Boy) - brass ensemble, Suo Gan - brass quintet, Sonata No.8 "Pathetique", 2nd movement - brass quintet, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - sax quartet, To Dots, From Jazz - big band, God Rest Ye Merrier Gentlemen - sax quartet, Pizzicati from ’Sylvia’ - brass quintet, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - wind quintet, Pizzicati from ’Sylvia’ - wind quintet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - wind quintet, All Through The Night - wind quintet, Gymnopedie No.1 - wind quintet, Ar Lan y Mor (By The Sea) - sax quartet, Largo from Xerxes - recorder quartet, Turkish Rondo - brass ensemble, Suo Gan - wind quintet, Jingle Those Bells - wind quintet, Swing Dat Canon! - big band, Jingle Those Bells - brass quintet, Suo Gan - sax quartet, Andante from Orphée et Eurydice - sax quartet, La Rejouissance (Fireworks) - recorder quartet, American Patrol - flute quintet and Happy Birthday - recorder quartet

This is a recorder quartet arrangement of Erik Satie’s Gymnop�die No.1. It has a lovely, lilting quality to it and is ideal for background music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Austin Ralphson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Austin Ralphson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.